Broadening my exploring : Llandaff Cathedral

cathedral
After looking at the church in town, I though that it would be best to broaden my research therefore I chose to go to Llandaff Cathedral as of course they are ‘similar’ buildings. The cathedral was a lot more extravagantly beautiful than I expected.
The Cathedral appears to be a lot more popular (approx 42,000 visitors per year). In one hour I calculated 7 males, 2 females as well as 2 volunteer workers (1 M 1 F), the Priest and I
rub

I managed to get some textures from the cathedral – presenting a visual sensory experience. I noticed endless amounts of texture which would usually go unnoticed therefore I thought representing it visually would help it to get noticed. As well as this there was an extensive variety of typography, also quite unnoticed in a similar way to the rubbings.

type

I then recorded a conversation between the Cathedral sales lady and I. We were all given a task to represent this visually to the others, so we had to write it out in a way that people could imagine how it sounded. So for example I used capital and bold letter to emphasise sound. I found this useful as it will help me to express things that people don’t necessarily see (like conversations or hidden/subtle things) but in a visual way.

A final task that we were set to do on our ‘areas’ was some sort of mapping. We were given a list of options that we could do: I personally chose to map everything blue that I saw when walking through the Cathedral but in two different ways. The outcomes:

blueW 2014-01-24 15.40.45
I think as an initial practice into mapping these turned out fairly well, unfortunately the ‘blue pinhole light’ outcome was more difficult to photograph therefore doesn’t look quite as effective. I enjoyed doing this and it gave me an insight into mapping and if I were to take this further, I would push it and be a lot more creative with it.

Leave a comment