Penguin Book Covers

For this project we began by watching the three films necessary in order to design 2 of the 3 book covers. The three covers given to us for the penguin competitions were ‘Freakonomics’, ‘Carrie’s war’ and ‘Oranges are not the only fruit’. I began by brainstorming ideas for all three of them, as well as some initial sketches. Initially, I chose to design for ‘Oranges..’ and ‘Carrie’s war’ and worked on these right up until a few days before the deadline. ‘Carrie’s war’ wasn’t going how I wanted it to, so 2 days before the deadline I switched to ‘Freakonomics’. The two outcomes that I presented were not as good as I wanted them to be however I will amend them for the final competition entry. My ‘Oranges…’ outcome is a little provocative however I’ve used colour and themes to represent the sexual side as well as the pure religious aspect of it. My ‘Freakonomics’ book cover I’m a lot less happy with as I only had a couple of days to put the whole thing together. It currently looks a little bit too much like an ordinary economics book therefore I need to put a twist on it when I make amendments to them both.

Leave a comment